Cyclesafe and complaint response from my MP

Following on from my recent dealings with Siobhain McDonagh (MP for Mitcham & Morden) in regards to my HGV incidents and her contacting each company directly I thought it best to let her know that Advanced Fuels had actually started dealing with it more seriously. I also took the chance to bring up the Cyclesafe Campaign, seeking her support for it if possible. I received her response earlier this week:

Thank you for writing to me with your concerns about how to improve safety for cyclists. I
am very glad to hear that Advanced Fuels are now taking your complaint more seriously, I do
hope that the matter will be resolved shortly. However, I am disappointed that your complaint
with PJ Brown is not being treated in the same manner, I shall continue to make enquiries into
this on your behalf.

I welcome efforts to increase the take up of cycling and want cycling to be considered more
often as a transport solution, and as a way of keeping fit and healthy. You may have seen that
I signed a motion in Parliament aimed at reducing accidents, and I am especially concerned
about the continuing number of accidents involving lorries and cyclists. I know that this has
also been a concern of the London Cycling Campaign. Like them, I support making it easier
and more pleasant to cycle, and am pleased that more and more people are travelling in this
way. I want cycling to be as safe as possible, and I certainly support the recent campaign to
improve safety.

I sincerely hope that the campaign launched by The Times will make a significant difference
to the safety of cycling in London, so that you can have confidence in allowing your eldest
daughter to cycle to school.

So looking rather promising on the cyclesafe front, she hasn’t done a “copy and paste” job like it appears some other MP’s (including the PM) did when contacted by other concerned members of the public, neither has she suggested cyclists put themselves in danger. It’s also good to know she is still going to make some enquiries with PJ Brown following their rather shocking response in the previous post.

Now a bit of a call to arms, although if your reading this I’m sure you’re already aware, there is a flashride planned for next Wednesday (22nd Feb) in London – the evening before the cycling debate in parliament. Details can be found here or here. I strongly urge any cyclists to try and attend, having been on the Blackfriars flashrides myself in the past they have all been excellent fun. There’s a great sense of community and you can’t help but grin as you look around at a sea of cyclists 🙂

Leave a Reply

