HGV Incidents Update

Posted: February 7, 2012 in Uncategorized

Just thought I’d post a quick update about the HGV incidents I mentioned in the previous post.

Firstly thought I’d like to say a big thanks for all those who took the time to read the last post and offer some advice. As you’ll see below some of it actually helped 🙂

After sending a chase e-mail to Advance Fuels I eventually got a response. Below is the e-mail trail after the chase:

Advance Fuels:

I have just received your email ref a complaint about one of our drivers on purley way I have viewed your video. And yes you do have a point on overtaking our vehicle does seem close but I would like to point out if you watch your video he overtook you on a clear part of road and pulled back over when he had passed you from what I can see on video he has not made you swerve into curb or made change direction the road does look as it narrows that aside I will be talking to driver on this matter and then decide on what action to take please feel free to contact me on this matter with any suggestions on what course of action you feel would be appropriate for me to take

My reply:

Hi <name removed>,

 

Thank you for getting back to me on this and taking the time to view the clip. At the time as I was approaching the traffic island I could hear the sound of a large vehicle coming up behind me. My shoulder check at the start seemed to confirm they where gaining on me rather quickly hence I had to brake to avoid coming into conflict with them as we approached the narrowing. Unfortunately it’s difficult to tell I’m slowing down in the video.

 

I consider myself a fairly confident and able rider, my usual commute takes me into central London where I deal with generally much larger and busier junctions, however having such a large vehicle pass so closely is rather un-nerving. A little bit of patience and then overtaking me once we’d past the traffic island (with a bit more room then the PJ Brown driver left me!) would have been more considerate. I appreciate drivers are normally on a tight schedule and having to contend with traffic isn’t easy (I used to do field engineering so spent most of my day driving between sites) but considering I caught up with one lorry at the next set of lights and then passed your truck shortly after that he didn’t really save himself that much time.

 

Thank you again for taking the time to look into this matter.

 

Regards

Their response:

Thanks for your reply I can assure you I will be pointing out your comments to the driver and make sure he is more aware of other smaller road users in future and to take more care while overtaking and where possible leave extra room when it is a cyclist I hope this acceptable to you and hope this will be a end to the matter

Following on from that my reply was “That would be acceptable”. I got the feeling from the second, rather poorly written reply, that they may be having a word with the driver which is a bit better then what PJ Brown said!

 

 

Fast forward a bit to last night and as I’m getting changed from the commute home the wife suddenly says “You got a letter today!” in a rather excited tone and hurries towards the front door to fetch it…”It’s from the House of Commons..”

My brain starts ticking over as I remember who I’ve e-mailed links to the previous post too…”I think I know what that might be about”

Imagine my delight as I find a lovely covering letter from my local MP Siobhan McDonagh attached to 2 letters addressed to the MD’s of Advance Fuels and PJ Brown requesting an investigation into the actions of their drivers 🙂

At some point I will try and get the full text of the letter up but I certainly consider that a bit of a result, not sure they’ll be so keen to fob off an MP 😉

The letter said I should expect a response within 4 weeks so I’ll be making a note in my calendar to chase it up if I don’t hear anything back…once I do I’ll post another update.

Comments
  1. Sam says:

    Good to see the wheels of justice turning (even if they are a bit creaky). Would love to read that letter.

Leave a Reply

