Me and Tea

Posted: January 27, 2010 in Drinks, Tea
Tags: ,

Unlike coffee I’ve always enjoyed a nice cup of cha but I don’t think it was until I was away at Centre Parcs on one of our first proper family holidays that I really started exploring other varieties.

Before this point my tea selection was pretty much limited to either Tetley or PG Tips but whilst on holiday, for reasons I can’t quite remember we’d purchased a Twinnings Selection Box. In in we had Earl Grey, Lady Grey, English Breakfast, Assam, Darjeeling and Ceylon. Of these the only one that remotely rung a bell was Earl Grey but that’s because I’m a trekkie brought up on The Next Generation and could hear Patrick Stewart’s voice instructing the replicators:  “Tea, Earl Grey, Hot”

We started out trying them and I found it was rather interesting exploring the tastes. The Earl Grey was very nice, Lady Grey was refreshing with its citrus and Ceylon had a lovely cupper! I wasn’t to keen on the Darjeeling but then I do prefer a nice strong tea 🙂

From there it wasn’t long until I started getting various loose leaf teas, first from Twinnings and then I moved onto Whittards of Chelsea after discovering they had opened a store in the new shopping centre in town. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised at the difference in flavors between Twinnings and Whittards Earl Grey and now have a cup pretty much every day with breakfast, although I have now moved onto the Breakfast Earl Grey blend which is slightly stronger.

We have an entire shelf in one of the kitchen cupboards at home for tea now! Five or six different varieties of loose leaf, along with the wife’s favorite Raspberry Leaf tea bags! These  along with various teapots to cater for anything from a single person to a group of 4 or 5 mean I can pretty much always get the right tea for the occasion, be it a quick Tetley tea bag for a quick fix, a nice brewed Earl Grey for when I want to take my time or a big pot of Ceylon for when me and the missus sit down for a game of Scrabble 🙂

As with the coffee I’m still re-discovering the flavors of tea having managed to cut out the sugar a few months ago now, it’s great being able to taste the drink for what it is rather then the sweetness of the sugar/sweetners I used before!

Leave a Reply

